Layer 1

Mike Loomey - S.E.O. C.V.


Please ignore the green and red [MADE WITH QWILR] pop-up and just scroll down through the site.

You do not have to log in, or pay, or become a QWILR member to read this content. It's FREE.

You may also click the 3 grey lines (The Hamburger) at the top of the page.

This reveals a menu where you can easily jump from section to section without scrolling.

If you need it again, the shortcut to this SEO CV is http://tinyurl.com/mikesseoreviews

189 Views @ 31/01/22
219 Views @ 09/02/22
245 Views @ 28/02/22
294 Views @ 05/04/22
320 Views @ 27/04/22
330 Views @ 27/05/22

Section 01

An Affordable £30 Hourly Fee


In these difficult times, many people have lost their jobs and wherever you look prices are soaring. Some have started a new website in the hope of turning their hobbies into a viable business. Some are trying to improve an older website.

Unfortunately, no matter how beautifully designed your website is, if it is languishing on page 37 of Google you are unlikely either to get any visitors or to make any sales.

Disaster!


Cash is often in short supply and most SEO agencies charge between £250 and £500 a month for their help. Needless to say, they will also charge you a hefty set-up fee and make sure that you are tied in with them for an entire year. If you dare to cancel there's even more to pay.

Hence, the very SEO advice from which you would most benefit is probably beyond your financial reach.


Solution!


Keen to help out, Mike offers a super-viable, low-cost alternative ... A completely ad-hoc S.E.O. coaching service.

There is no contract and you are under no obligation to book a fixed number of sessions (or indeed any at all).

You can stop and start, as you see fit.

All that is asked is that you pay for any sessions you have had and give me a bit of notice if you want to stop.


There is no catch!


My intention is, as far as possible, to teach you what to do yourself, not to persuade you to book me to do the whole job for you.



£30 Per Hour Still Too Much? ~ Echoes to the Rescue!


If you are worried about risking your hard-earned cash on something you don't really understand?

There is a cash-free, no-risk alternative, no matter where you are based

It is called Economy of Hours or Echoes, for short.

Echoes is a skill-sharing platform with branches in East and West London.


Simply for giving the platform a try, you will get 3 "Echoes" i.e. 3 credits.

Each credit is worth one hour of any Echo expert's time.

I am a long-term Echoes member.

Instead of parting with my regular fee of £30 per hour, you can instead "pay" for your first SEO consultation with the free Echoes you get for joining the Echo community.

What a bargain!

Again, I promise you, there is no catch.

Of course, if you don't fancy joining Echoes and prefer simply to pay in cash that is fine too.

Section 02

My Free Ubersuggest Course


On 02/02/22, I launched a new FREE 60-minute Echo course on the Economy of Hours platform.

Via Zoom, I will talk you slowly through how the Ubersuggest suite of SEO tools works.

With my help, if you wish, you will be able to jump straight into their 7-day free trial and get all the marketing info you could possibly need about your own and your competitors' websites.

This will be a huge advantage. You will not have to spend the first 3-4 days of the Ubersuggest SEO trial figuring out how the software works.

~~~

Just to be clear ...

(1) You don't need to sign up for the Ubersuggest 7-day trial either before, or indeed after we chat.

(2) I will talk you through how Ubersuggest works in a Zoom call, using my subscription.

(3) This offer is only for Echo / Economy of Hours members. It is free to join and free to participate.

Section 03

Working at Portobello Business Centre - Latest Update


In 2022, I am again working with Portobello Business Centre and will be part of the team delivering ‘Fundamental Digital Skills’ courses mainly for businesses in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.

The course dates are shown here ...

https://pbc.co.uk/upcoming-workshops/

***

Portobello Business Centre ran a similar series of events in 2021. On this occasion we focused on a website belonging to Dougal Stuart from a company called Move On Up. Dougal is a local trader based in North-West London.

After attending last year's course, I individually helped Dougal with his site.

He kindly contacted his PBC mentor (Stewart Woodrow) to say how pleased he was with my help with the SEO on his website.


Section 04

Tutoring at Loughborough University - Summer 2021


During the Summer lockdown of 2021, I was pleased to mentor Ms Lizzie Dodd, an MSc sports marketing student from Loughborough University.


Lizzie was working as an intern for Ince Umbrellas (1805) and knew almost nothing about SEO when we first met. Unfortunately, SEO was not a marketing strategy that Ince Umbrellas had ever used either. So I was invited to step in and help.


Together, Lizzie and I conducted a thorough SEO analysis of the Ince Umbrellas website.

On completion, we were pleased to receive the following feedback from the company.


The thesis was submitted to Loughborough Uni for assessment. Following that we received this excellent news...



Section 05

Teaching at Loughborough University Spring 2022


After successfully tutoring just one of their MSc students last summer, I have been invited back to teach all the students studying for their master's degree in "Sport Marketing".


Session 1: Three Hours Minimum

Introduction to SEO – What it is, why it is useful/important, how it works etc.

Overview of SEO with an introduction to some typical SEO tools and an overview of how to use them.

Set the student a basic practical task using one of the tools introduced above to be reviewed in Session 2.

~~~


Session 2: Three Hours Minimum

Recap of session 1

Students to share outcomes from task refinement.

Mike to delve deeper into the main SEO tools

Section 06

Other News from Mike


In the last 3 or 4 months, I have ventured into completely new territory and have been using S.E.O. to successfully promote some excellent free and paid-for courses on "Business Writing Skills" and "Chronic Pain Management" for https://johnkohut.com.

John Kohut is from Canada but studied at Harvard University. He has worked as a journalist, all around the world for very well-known and prestigious organizations. He really knows his stuff and the courses are extremely detailed and well-written - even the free ones.

Normally, our clients have had products to sell, rather than courses. So an entirely different SEO approach was required.

The task has been challenging. But at the same time, it has been very satisfying to watch new students find the courses on Google and sign up.

The experience has added yet another useful string to our SEO bow.


In May 2021 I also successfully taught an SEO module at UEL (University of East London).




Additionally, in May 2021, I was delighted to be asked to use SEO to promote the forthcoming Computer Engineering course for a superb college called East London Advanced Technical Training or ELATT, where I was a (very) mature web design student in 2015. Click here for my ELATT testimonial, which is still on their site 6 years after I qualified.

(I was at least twice the age of every other student in my year.)


This project is now complete.

Section 07

Reviews Via Echoes, P.B.C. and Elsewhere


Some of our reviews are shown below but if you would like to speak personally to one or two of my clients, instead of simply reading their reviews, any of these guys would be happy to chat with you about my work.


Paul Howes - I.T. Consultant - 07739 350197

Marianna Kisandraki and Sandra Camalo both work for the Portobello Business Centre.

I have run several SEO courses and Help Desks for them and have helped dozens and dozens of their clients.

You may call them on 020 7460 5050 to discuss my work or email info@pbc.co.uk























Section 07 - Mike's Background

Mike Loomey is a freelance, independent S.E.O. guy, lecturer and business coach. Prior to that, for many years, he ran Stargazer Discos, an extremely successful, London-based Entertainment Agency,


In 2012, Mike qualified as an "Adobe Certified Associate" in web design using Dreamweaver.


In 2013, whilst honing his S.E.O. skills at Morley College in Lambeth, from over 300 nominees, Mike won the London-wide SEO Creativity Award during "Adult Learners Week".


(See letter of confirmation and certificate below).


In 2015, Mike spent 6 months away from the Entertainment agency and attended E.L.A.T.T. or the East London Advanced Technical Training College and further increased his web design skills. He qualified in Joomla & WordPress plus a host of other Microsoft and Adobe programs. Many years later, Mike is still recognised as a "student of note" on the E.L.A.T.T. college website. Check out the link below.


https://www.elatt.org.uk/testimonials/mike-loomey


Since leaving E.L.A.T.T. Mike has been in great demand both as a freelance SEO guy, web usability tester, SEO lecturer and general business coach.


As detailed in the section below, Mike has familiarised himself with the backend of all the major web design tools and some lesser-known ones as well.


Inspired by his successes at Morley College, Mike has developed and delivered over 60 different lectures on S.E.O. and related topics. Regular venues include the City Business Library and the Idea Store in Whitechapel.

In early 2020, Mike taught the advanced SEO module to the 2nd-year "media students" at South Bank University. He was invited to teach the same advanced course at U.E.L. (University of East London). Unfortunately, this has had to be postponed indefinitely due to the Coronavirus.

Mike regularly works with the Portobello Business Centre as part of a panel of experienced lecturers/professionals helping local businesses to improve their presentation, digital marketing, and financial skills.

They designed a 2-week course, entitled "Rocket Launch Your Business." This covers a diverse range of business topics, including how to create a WordPress website, Search Engine Optimisation (with Mike), social media marketing, branding, pricing, etc...


This training was in such high demand that the course is presently being re-run for the 3rd time and booking for a 4th session in early 2021. Mike will be speaking again about the ever-changing demands of SEO.

Section 08 Web Design Platforms Covered


Mike mostly deals with the following platforms. However, please don't be put off if you are using something different. As far as SEO is concerned, the process is pretty similar throughout.



Mike is a qualified Adobe Certified Associate in Dreamweaver ...












Section 09 - General Fees - Group or 1-2-1 Sessions.


Since 2014, Mike has been presenting face to face seminars at various business-related venues such as the City Business Library, the Portobello Business Centre and the Idea Store in Whitechapel.

Topics have included ...

  • 1."S.E.O. for Beginners" or
  • 2."An introduction to Google Maps / Google My Business." or
  • 3."S.E.O. for Bloggers"
  • 4."How to Use "Google Search Console" and "Ubersuggest" to research and promote your business.
  • 5.10 Free or low-priced SEO tools to make Google love your website.

  • Due to the pandemic, these sessions moved online via Zoom in 2020.

    Individuals or companies can request a personalised online 2-hour session for just £50.00. (Price fixed until the end of 2022).

    This fee includes detailed individual preparation from Mike beforehand.

    The only exceptions to this are ...

    (1) Echo members - See the top section of this CV for rates or call Mike with your questions.

    (2) Clients referred by the Portobello Business Centre with whom Mike has worked for several years.

    A special arrangement exists for PBC members. Please speak to Sandra Camelo or Gina Zanfir at PBC for the latest offers.


    If you are not an Echo or PBC member, fees are payable beforehand via BACS. Advance payment is necessary because before meeting each new client, Mike and Monty will conscientiously spend an extra hour or two looking over your site and preparing a detailed report to be explained and discussed during the online meeting.

    Unfortunately, although we have spent several hours in preparation, sometimes a client doesn't show up for their meeting. Hence the change in policy to an advance payment. Sorry about that!

    Clients will have free continuous access to all the online S.E.O. reports that Mike has generated. They can study and take immediate action on Mike's recommendations themselves.



    Unlike most SEO firms our clear emphasis throughout is to simplify the process and show clients what they personally can achieve with SEO. Our goal is not to persuade clients to engage him to do all the work for them. This option is not available, in any case.

    After the initial 1-2-1, clients can book follow-up sessions as and when required. Many find that these are a huge help and a motivation to get things done before the next 1-2-1.

    Section 10 - Mike's Photos


    Mike during lockdown - 2020.


    Mike speaking at Economy of Hours (aka Echo)



    Mike in his famous SEO Geek T-shirt, teaching SEO to a 2nd year Media Studies class at London's South Bank University



    One of many classes run by the Portobello Business Centre to help local businesses whose livelihood was affected badly by the Grenfell Tower fire.




    Another 1-2-1 Business Advice Clinic at Portobello Business Centre. Mike at the front with his back to the camera.


    Section 11 - Contact Details


    (a) Text on 07967 044282. (This is Mike's preference & you will definitely get a quick reply.)


    (b) Call Mike (during office hours) on 020-8594 1320 and leave a message.


    (c) Email mikeloomey@hotmail.com

    Section 12 - Professional Indemnity Insurance


    Section 13 - Disclaimer


    Google's search algorithm can and often does change. S.E.O. methods viewed as perfectly reasonable by Google one day, can suddenly and without notice become unacceptable (or insufficient) the next. This may result in a penalty in the form of a drop in rankings.


    The tools Mike recommends and the advice they give are offered in good faith. Every reasonable effort has been made to ensure they are both accurate and completely up to date.


    Please bear in mind that no S.E.O. agency or individual, can 100% guarantee your S.E.0. project's success and anyone who emphatically claims that they can do so should be avoided.


    Please bear in mind also that S.E.O. is an extremely effective long-term marketing strategy.
    It is NOT a quick fix!


    Essentially when you engage an S.E.O. guy, you are paying not only for the time spent on your account but for the years it has taken to acquire the level of skills necessary to optimise your site quickly and effectively. The fee also covers payment for an ever more expensive suite of SEO tools.


    An SEO agency or freelance SEO guy should be able to provide you with an on-going timeline detailing the work they have done. They should be able to explain in layman's terms why they have taken every course of action and be willing to provide documented evidence to show what their strategies have been and whether these have proved successful (or not).


    Mike Loomey
    Martin Montgomery-Smith (Monty)


    36 Park Avenue
    Barking Essex
    IG11 8QU


    mikeloomey@hotmail.com


    Call 020-8594 1320

    Text 07967 044282