Layer 1

Mike Loomey - S.E.O. C.V.


Please ignore the green and red [MADE WITH QWILR] pop-up and just scroll down through the site.

You do not have to log in, or pay, or become a QWILR member to read this content. It's FREE.

You may also click the 3 grey lines (The Hamburger) at the top of the page.

This reveals a menu where you can easily jump from section to section without scrolling.

If you need it again, the shortcut to this SEO CV is http://tinyurl.com/mikesseoreviews

43 Views @ 20/10/20
46 Views @ 13/11/20
47 Views @ 18/11/20

53 Views @ 01/12/20

61 Views @ 26/01/21
65 Views @ 02/02/21

66 Views @ 17/02/21
70 Views @ 04/03/21
72 Views @ 10/03/21
90 Views @ 01/04/21
99 Views @ 17/04/21
103 Views @ 21/04/21

110 Views @ 06/05/21

111 Views @ 16/06/21

116 Views @ 19/06/21

122 Views @ 24/09/21

139 Views @ 29/10/21
153 Views @ 11/11/21
166 Views @ 08/12/21


Section 00 - Latest News - Updated ... 11/11/21

Portobello Business Centre


After too long away, due to the pandemic, we are pleased to be working once more with Portobello Business Centre.

PBC ran 2 events on 10th & 11th November 2021 via Zoom.

Mike ran a one-hour "SEO for Beginners" presentation on Day 1.

On Day 2, he sat in on their SEO Help Desk answering SEO questions via Zoom.

Portobello Business Centre explains: "this year PBC are only focusing on topics related to digital.

Check out our website on https://pbc.co.uk/ for more info."

***

During the seminar on Day 1, with permission from the site owner, Mike explained how altering the structure and content of a site and adding appropriate, well-researched keywords, could greatly increase your rankings on Google.

The client in question was Dougal from Move On Up who had let his mentor Stewart Woodrow from Portobello Business Centre know how pleased he was with Mike's help with the SEO on his website.





Tutoring at Loughborough University


During the Summer lockdown, I was pleased to mentor Ms Lizzie Dodd, an MSc sports marketing student from Loughborough University.


Lizzie was working as an intern for Ince Umbrellas (1805) and knew almost nothing about SEO when we first met. Unfortunately, SEO was not a marketing strategy that Ince Umbrellas had ever used either. So I was invited to step in and help.


Together, Lizzie and I conducted a thorough SEO analysis of the Ince Umbrellas website.

On completion, we were pleased to receive the following feedback from the company.


The thesis was submitted to Loughborough Uni for assessment. Following that we received this excellent news...





Other News from Mike


In the last 3 or 4 months, I have ventured into completely new territory and have been using S.E.O. to successfully promote some excellent free and paid-for courses on "Business Writing Skills" and "Chronic Pain Management" for https://johnkohut.com.

John Kohut is from Canada but studied at Harvard University. He has worked as a journalist, all around the world for very well-known and prestigious organizations. He really knows his stuff and the courses are extremely detailed and well-written - even the free ones.

Normally, our clients have had products to sell, rather than courses. So an entirely different SEO approach was required.

The task has been challenging. But at the same time, it has been very satisfying to watch new students find the courses on Google and sign up.

The experience has added yet another useful string to our SEO bow.


In May 2021 I also successfully taught an SEO module at UEL (University of East London).




Additionally, in May 2021, I was delighted to be asked to use SEO to promote the forthcoming Computer Engineering course for a superb college called East London Advanced Technical Training or ELATT, where I was a (very) mature web design student in 2015. Click here for my ELATT testimonial, which is still on their site 6 years after I qualified.

(I was at least twice the age of every other student in my year.)


This project is still ongoing.


Coronavirus Relief 2021


In these difficult times, many people have recently lost their jobs. Some have started a new website in the hope of turning their hobbies into a viable business. Some are trying to improve their older website.

Unfortunately, no matter how beautifully designed your website is, if it is languishing on page 137 of Google you are unlikely either to get any visitors or to make any sales.

Disaster!

Cash is often in short supply and most SEO agencies charge between £200 and £400 a month for their help. Needless to say, they will also charge you a hefty set-up fee and you are tied in for a year and charged if you dare to cancel.

Hence, the very service from which you would most benefit is probably beyond your financial reach.

Solution!

Keen to help out, Mike and his SEO colleague Monty, offer a viable, low-cost alternative ... An ad-hoc S.E.O. coaching service.

Quite often our fee is funded by organizations like Portobello Business Centre, in which case you pay nothing and they pick up the whole tab. But even if you are not supported, you will be pleased to hear that our "Coming Out of Lockdown" rate of just £25 per hour has just been extended to cover the whole of 2021.

There is no contract and you are under no obligation to book a fixed number of sessions with us (or indeed any at all). You can stop and start, as you see fit. All we ask is that you pay for any sessions you have already had and give us a bit of notice if you want to stop.

There is no catch!

Our intention is, as far as possible, to teach you what to do, not to persuade you to book us to do the whole job for you.


Still Not Sure? ~ Echoes to the Rescue!

Worried about risking your hard-earned cash on something you don't really understand?

If you are not funded by your local business enterprise centre, there is another cash-free, no-risk alternative, no matter where you are based

It is called Economy of Hours or Echoes, for short.

Echoes is a skill-sharing platform with branches in East and West London.


Simply for giving it a try, you will get 3 "Echoes" i.e. 3 credits. Each credit is worth one hour of any Echo expert's time. Monty and Mike are long-term Echoes members.

So, instead of trying to find funding or parting with £25 per hour, you can instead "pay" for your first SEO consultation with the free Echoes you get for joining the Echo community. What a bargain!

Again, I promise you, there is no catch.

Of course, if you don't fancy joining Echoes and prefer to pay us in cash that is fine too.

Section 02 - Reviews Via Echoes, P.B.C. and Elsewhere


Some of our reviews are shown below but if you would like to speak personally to one or two of my clients, instead of simply reading their reviews, any of these guys would be happy to chat with you about my work.


Paul Howes - I.T. Consultant - 07739 350197

Jodie Barrett - Bespoke Professional Wig Maker - 07852 871979

Mr. Moien Tayari - Importer of high-quality saffron - 07476 697751

Tony Adams - Gay Wedding DJ - 07970 641976

Gina Zanfir, Sandra Camalo & Maria Stammers all work for the Portobello Business Centre.

I have run several SEO courses and Help Desks for them and have helped dozens and dozens of their clients.

You may call them on 020 7460 5050 to discuss my work or email info@pbc.co.uk




















Section 03 - Mike's Background

Mike Loomey is a freelance, independent S.E.O. guy, lecturer and business coach. Prior to that, for many years, he ran Stargazer Discos, an extremely successful, London-based Entertainment Agency,


In 2012, Mike qualified as an "Adobe Certified Associate" in web design using Dreamweaver.


In 2013, whilst honing his S.E.O. skills at Morley College in Lambeth, from over 300 nominees, Mike won the London-wide SEO Creativity Award during "Adult Learners Week".


(See letter of confirmation and certificate below).


In 2015, Mike spent 6 months away from the Entertainment agency and attended E.L.A.T.T. or the East London Advanced Technical Training College and further increased his web design skills. He qualified in Joomla & WordPress plus a host of other Microsoft and Adobe programs. Many years later, Mike is still recognised as a "student of note" on the E.L.A.T.T. college website. Check out the link below.


https://www.elatt.org.uk/testimonials/mike-loomey


Since leaving E.L.A.T.T. Mike has been in great demand both as a freelance SEO guy, web usability tester, SEO lecturer and general business coach.


As detailed in the section below, Mike has familiarised himself with the backend of all the major web design tools and some lesser-known ones as well.


Inspired by his successes at Morley College, Mike has developed and delivered over 60 different lectures on S.E.O. and related topics. Regular venues include the City Business Library and the Idea Store in Whitechapel.

In early 2020, Mike taught the advanced SEO module to the 2nd-year "media students" at South Bank University. He was invited to teach the same advanced course at U.E.L. (University of East London). Unfortunately, this has had to be postponed indefinitely due to the Coronavirus.

Mike regularly works with the Portobello Business Centre as part of a panel of experienced lecturers/professionals helping local businesses to improve their presentation, digital marketing, and financial skills.

They designed a 2-week course, entitled "Rocket Launch Your Business." This covers a diverse range of business topics, including how to create a WordPress website, Search Engine Optimisation (with Mike), social media marketing, branding, pricing, etc...


This training was in such high demand that the course is presently being re-run for the 3rd time and booking for a 4th session in early 2021. Mike will be speaking again about the ever-changing demands of SEO.

Section 04 Web Design Platforms Covered


Mike mostly deals with the following platforms. However, please don't be put off if you are using something different. As far as SEO is concerned, the process is pretty similar throughout.



Mike is a qualified Adobe Certified Associate in Dreamweaver ...












Section 05 - General Fees - Group or 1-2-1 Sessions.


Since 2014, Mike has been presenting face to face seminars at various business-related venues such as the City Business Library, the Portobello Business Centre and the Idea Store in Whitechapel.

Topics have included ...

  • 1."S.E.O. for Beginners" or
  • 2."An introduction to Google Maps / Google My Business." or
  • 3."S.E.O. for Bloggers"
  • 4."How to Use "Google Search Console" and "Ubersuggest" to research and promote your business.
  • 5.10 Free or low-priced SEO tools to make Google love your website.

  • Due to the pandemic, these sessions moved online via Zoom in 2020. Individuals or companies can request a personalised online 2-hour session for just £50.00. (Price fixed until 2022).

    This fee includes detailed individual preparation from Mike beforehand.

    The only exceptions to this are ...

    (1) Echo members - See the top section of this CV for rates or call Mike with your questions.

    (2) Clients referred by the Portobello Business Centre with whom Mike has worked for several years.

    A special arrangement exists for PBC members. Please speak to Marianna Kisandraki at PBC for the latest offers.


    If you are not an Echo or PBC member, fees are payable beforehand via BACS. Advance payment is necessary because before meeting each new client, Mike and Monty will conscientiously spend an extra hour or two looking over your site and preparing a detailed report to be explained and discussed during the online meeting.

    Unfortunately, although we have spent several hours in preparation, sometimes a client doesn't show up for their meeting. Hence the change in policy to an advance payment. Sorry about that!

    Clients will have free continuous access to all the online S.E.O. reports that Mike and Monty have generated. They can study and take immediate action on Mike's recommendations themselves.



    Unlike most SEO firms our clear emphasis throughout is to simplify the process and show clients what they personally can achieve with SEO. Our goal is not to persuade clients to engage him to do all the work for them. This option is not available, in any case.

    After the initial 1-2-1, clients can book follow-up sessions as and when required. Many find that these are a huge help and a motivation to get things done before the next 1-2-1.

    Section 06 - Mike's Photos


    Mike during lockdown - 2020.


    Mike speaking at Economy of Hours (aka Echo)



    Mike in his famous SEO Geek T-shirt, teaching SEO to a 2nd year Media Studies class at London's South Bank University



    One of many classes run by the Portobello Business Centre to help local businesses whose livelihood was affected badly by the Grenfell Tower fire.




    Another 1-2-1 Business Advice Clinic at Portobello Business Centre. Mike at the front with his back to the camera.


    Section 07 - Contact Details


    (a) Text on 07967 044282. (This is Mike's preference & you will definitely get a quick reply.)


    (b) Call Mike (during office hours) on 020-8594 1320 and leave a message.


    (c) Email mikeloomey@hotmail.com

    Section 08 - Professional Indemnity Insurance


    Section 08 - Disclaimer


    Google's search algorithm can and often does change. S.E.O. methods viewed as perfectly reasonable by Google one day, can suddenly and without notice become unacceptable (or insufficient) the next. This may result in a penalty in the form of a drop in rankings.


    The tools Mike and Monty recommend and the advice they give are offered in good faith. Every reasonable effort has been made to ensure they are both accurate and completely up to date.


    Please bear in mind that no S.E.O. agency or individual, can 100% guarantee your S.E.0. project's success and anyone who emphatically claims that they can do so should be avoided.


    Please bear in mind also that S.E.O. is an extremely effective long-term marketing strategy.
    It is NOT a quick fix!


    Essentially when you engage an S.E.O. guy, you are paying not only for the time spent on your account but for the years it has taken to acquire the level of skills necessary to optimise your site quickly and effectively. The fee also covers payment for an ever more expensive suite of SEO tools.


    An SEO agency or freelance SEO guy should be able to provide you with an on-going timeline detailing the work they have done. They should be able to explain in layman's terms why they have taken every course of action and be willing to provide documented evidence to show what their strategies have been and whether these have proved successful (or not).


    Mike Loomey
    Martin Montgomery-Smith (Monty)


    36 Park Avenue
    Barking Essex
    IG11 8QU


    mikeloomey@hotmail.com


    Call 020-8594 1320

    Text 07967 044282