Layer 1

Mike Loomey
S.E.O. & Web Design C.V.
Updated August 2022



If you need this CV again, please make a note of the URL

www.mikeloomey.com

189 Views @ 31/01/22
245 Views @ 28/02/22
294 Views @ 05/04/22
320 Views @ 27/04/22
379 Views @ 11/05/22
394 Views @ 20/06/22
417 Views @ 30/06/22
450 Views @ 19/07/22
498 Views @ 08/08/22

August 2022 - Web Design Platforms Mike Covers


I am comfortable dealing with ALL the following web design platforms and applications and have recently added Advanced Shopify Store SEO to my repertoire.

~~~

An SEO guy is pretty much like an accountant - Regardless of the company you are working for, or the web design platform used, the Search Engine Optimisation process is pretty similar throughout.

You just need to know where to start, what to change and what Key Performance Indicators to measure.

The info below is provided merely for guidance and transparency.

Please don't be put off if the web design platform you use is not listed.





Qualified in WordPress in 2015 at East London Advanced Technical Training College.

Very Familiar with the latest version ~ WordPress v.6.1

Here is a very recent example of a website that I designed.

The Boathouse Barking

This site was created using a combination of WordPress v.6.1, Elementor and the Yoast SEO plugin for WordPress.





I have been a qualified Adobe Certified Associate in Dreamweaver since 02/03/12

Exam Reference Number = #9045167




Adobe Qualified Since 2012
Exam Reference Number = #9045167




Qualified in 2015



Very Familiar with the latest 2022 version of "Elementor Basic for WordPress".




Very Familiar with the latest 2022 version of Yoast.



Expert in the latest 2022 version of Ubersuggest Professional.



Expert in the latest 2022 version of Search Console.















I have recent Intermediate to Expert Knowledge of this L.M.S. or Learning Management System.


09/06/22

Shopify is the latest web design platform for which I have trained and can now offer advanced Search Engine Optimisation advice.


I delivered an online class covering advanced, up-to-date, Search Engine Optimisation techniques for Shopify.

This was presented to 15 enthusiastic Shopify Store owners via Zoom.

My seminar was just one of a suite of Digital Marketing Skills training courses offered this year (2022) and in previous years by Portobello Business Centre.

An SEO Expert at an Affordable £40 Hourly Fee


In these difficult times, many people have lost their jobs and wherever you look, food and energy prices are soaring.

Some have started a new website in the hope of turning their hobbies into a viable business.

Others are trying to improve an older website.

Unfortunately, no matter how beautifully designed your website is, if it is languishing on page 37 of Google you are unlikely either to get any visitors or make any sales.

Disaster!

~~~

Under these circumstances, cash is often in short supply and most SEO agencies charge between £250 and £500 a month for their help.

Needless to say, there's usually a hefty set-up fee and most agencies tie you in with them for an entire year.

Hence, the very SEO advice from which you would most benefit is probably beyond your financial reach.

Solution!

Keen to help out, Mike offers a super-viable, low-cost alternative ...

A completely ad-hoc S.E.O. coaching service for just £40 per hour inclusive.

You will be amazed how much can be achieved in that short time.

Scroll down for a long list of testimonials from satisfied clients.

~~~

There is no contract to sign and you are under no obligation to book a fixed number of sessions (or indeed any at all).

You can stop and start, as you see fit.

As far as possible, I will teach you what to do yourself.

My intention is absolutely not to try and persuade you to book me to do the whole SEO job for you.

Recent Work 2022
Portobello Business Centre - Course Tutor


In 2022, I am again pleased to be working with Portobello Business Centre

I am part of their team of experts delivering various ‘Fundamental Digital Skills’ courses.

An up-to-date list of dates is shown here ...

https://pbc.co.uk/upcoming-workshops/

Please check back regularly, as new classes are frequently added.

~~~

For 3 whole days in November 2022 (exact dates to be announced) you will be able to book a free, face-to-face, introductory session with Mike and/or any of PBC's other digital experts.

~~~

I have taught 3 courses for PBC so far in 2022 ...

SEO for WordPress - Beginners
SEO for WordPress - Intermediate
SEO for Shopify - Beginners

~~~

PBC ran a similar series of events in 2021

On that occasion, I looked at a website belonging to Dougal Stuart.

He runs a local removals company called Move On Up.

After the course, he wrote to say that he was "bowled over" by my support ...


05/08/22


29/07/22


Please scroll down to see dozens more 5-star reviews of my work.

Recent Work 2022
Portobello Business Centre
Business Help Desk Advisor


I am a long-term advisor on Portobello Business Centre's Business Help Desk.

The team offers short FREE 15 to 30-minute consultations via Zoom.

My area of expertise is SEO or Search Engine Optimisation

Please contact Sandra Camalo, PBC's extremely helpful receptionist if you would like to book a FREE session.

020 7460 5050

There is no obligation to book paid follow-up sessions.

Recent Work 2022
Loughborough University
Lecturer for an MSc Master's Degree Marketing Course
15 Students


After successfully tutoring just one of their MSc students in 2021 (See the next section below) ...

This year I was invited back to teach SEO to all 15 students studying for their master's degree in "Sports Marketing".

Session 1: Three Hours

Introduction to SEO – What it is, why it is useful/important, how it works etc.

Overview of SEO with an introduction to some typical SEO tools and an overview of how to use them.

Set the students a basic practical task using one of the main tools.


Session 2: Three Hours

Recap of session 1.

Students are to individually present the outcome of the practical task that was set in Session 1.

Group discussion of task results.

Mike to delve deeper into practical SEO strategies using the main SEO tools.

Work in 2021
Loughborough University
One-to-One Mentoring for a student on
an MSc Master's Degree Marketing Course


During the Summer lockdown of 2021, I was pleased to be asked to mentor Ms Lizzie Dodd, an MSc sports marketing student from Loughborough University.


Lizzie was working as an intern for Ince Umbrellas (1805) and knew almost nothing about SEO when we first met.

Unfortunately, SEO was not a marketing strategy that Ince Umbrellas had ever used either.

So I was invited to step in and help.


Together, Lizzie and I conducted an extremely thorough SEO analysis of the Ince Umbrellas website.

On completion, we were pleased to receive the following feedback from the company.


The thesis was submitted to Loughborough Uni for assessment.

Shortly after that, we received this excellent news...


I have been following Lizzie's blossoming career on LinkedIn and am delighted to have played some small part in her success ...

https://www.linkedin.com/in/elizabeth-dodd98/

She writes ...

I am a Marketing Coordinator for "British Dressage", the UK's national governing body for the equestrian sport.
I also hold a distinction in MSc Sports Marketing, a 1st in BSc Sports Management, as well as relevant marketing internships and work experiences for both not-for-profit and for-profit organisations.

Work in 2021
Promoting Business Courses, not Websites
Using SEO


In 2021, I again ventured into completely new territory.

I have been using S.E.O. to successfully promote some excellent courses.

The LMS or Learning Management System in use was called "Teachable".

It's quite similar to "Udemy" but far more affordable.

The courses I promoted were named "Business Writing Skills" and "Chronic Pain Management".

See https://johnkohut.com.


~~~

John Kohut is from Canada but studied at Harvard University.

He has worked as a journalist, all around the world and has been employed by some very well-known and prestigious organizations.

His Business Writing Courses are extremely detailed and well-written.

~~~

Normally, my clients have products to sell, rather than courses.

So an entirely different SEO approach was required.

It has been very satisfying to see new students discover John's courses on Google and then sign up.

Work in 2021
University of East London
S.E.O. Lecturer ~ BSc General Digital Marketing Course


In May 2021 Via Zoom, I successfully taught a full SEO module for the students attending U.E.L. (University of East London).


The university's course organiser was Mr Kiran Patel (07988 742515).

Kiran will be happy to discuss my work if you wish to contact him.

Work in 2021
More Course Promotion, rather than Website Promotion
Specifically ~ Keyword Research using Ubersuggest


Additionally, in May 2021, I was delighted to be asked to advise on how best to use SEO to promote a forthcoming Computer Engineering course.

This project was very dear to my heart as it was for a superb college called E.L.A.T.T. aka East London Advanced Technical Training.

I was myself a (very) mature web design student there in 2015.


After numerous site updates and revisions, my ELATT testimonial still features on the college website 7 whole years after I qualified.

I guess I must have made an impression.

Mike's Latest SEO Reviews


My written reviews are shown below.

However, if you would like to speak personally to one or two of my clients, instead of simply reading their reviews, any of these guys would be happy to chat with you about my work.

Paul Howes - I.T. Consultant - 07739 350197

Mr Kiran Patel - Course Organisor University of East London (07988 742515).

Sandra Camalo for the Portobello Business Centre.

I have run many SEO courses and Help Desks for PBC and have helped dozens and dozens of their clients.

You may call them on 020 7460 5050 to discuss my work or email info@pbc.co.uk



IF I HAVE EVER WORKED FOR YOU AND YOU WISH EITHER TO HAVE A WRITTEN REVIEW FEATURED BELOW ...
OR YOU ARE PREPARED TO SPEAK BRIEFLY TO ONE OF MY POTENTIAL CLIENTS - PLEASE GET IN TOUCH. THANK YOU!























Mike's Background

Mike Loomey is a freelance, independent S.E.O. guy, lecturer, university student tutor, WordPress web designer and business coach.

Prior to that, for many years, he owned and ran Stargazer Discos, an extremely successful, London-based Entertainment Agency.

Mike is married to the lovely Shelley Harrington. We live in Barking in East London and have two cats.

~~~


In 2012, Mike qualified as an "Adobe Certified Associate" in web design using Dreamweaver.

Exam Reference Number = #9045167

~~~


In 2013, whilst honing his S.E.O. skills at Morley College in Lambeth, from over 300 nominees, Mike won the London-wide SEO Creativity Award during "Adult Learners Week".


(See letter of confirmation and certificate below).


In 2015, Mike spent 6 months away from the Entertainment agency and attended E.L.A.T.T. or the East London Advanced Technical Training College and further increased his web design skills.

He qualified in web design using the platforms Joomla & WordPress plus a host of other Microsoft and Adobe programs.

Many years later, Mike is still recognised as a "student of note" on the E.L.A.T.T. college website. Check out the link below.

https://www.elatt.org.uk/testimonials/mike-loomey



Since leaving E.L.A.T.T. Mike has been in great demand both as a freelance SEO guy, web usability tester, SEO lecturer, a personal student tutor and general business coach.

He has familiarised himself with the backend of all the major web design tools and some lesser-known ones too ... Smugmug anybody ???

Inspired by his successes at Morley College, Mike has developed and delivered over 75 Different lectures on S.E.O. and related topics.

Regular venues include the Portobello Business Centre, City Business Library and the Idea Store in Whitechapel

In early 2020, Mike taught the advanced SEO module to the 2nd-year "media students" at South Bank University.

In 2021 he was invited to teach the same advanced course at U.E.L. (University of East London) via Zoom.

Mike regularly works with the Portobello Business Centre.

He is part of a panel of experienced lecturers/professionals helping local businesses to improve their presentation, digital marketing, and financial skills.

Mike's Photos


Mike during lockdown - 2020.


Mike speaking at Economy of Hours (aka Echo)



Mike in his famous SEO Geek T-shirt, teaching SEO to a 2nd year Media Studies class at London's South Bank University



One of many classes run by the Portobello Business Centre to help local businesses whose livelihood was affected badly by the Grenfell Tower fire.




Another 1-2-1 Business Advice Clinic at Portobello Business Centre. Mike is at the front with his back to the camera.


Mike's Contact Details


(a) Text on 07967 044282. (This is Mike's preference & you will definitely get a quick reply.)


(b) Call Mike (during office hours) on 020-8594 1320 and leave a message.


(c) Email mikeloomey@hotmail.com

Mike Loomey - Current Professional Indemnity Insurance



Mike Loomey ~ Disclaimer


Google's search algorithm can and often does change. S.E.O. methods viewed as perfectly reasonable by Google one day, can suddenly and without notice become unacceptable (or insufficient) the next. This may result in a penalty in the form of a drop in rankings.


The tools Mike recommends and the advice they give are offered in good faith.


Every reasonable effort has been made to ensure they are both accurate and completely up to date.


Please bear in mind that no S.E.O. agency or individual, can 100% guarantee your S.E.0. project's success and anyone who emphatically claims that they can do so should be avoided.


Please bear in mind also that S.E.O. is an extremely effective long-term marketing strategy.
It is NOT a quick fix!


Essentially when you engage an S.E.O. guy, you are paying not only for the time spent on your account but for the years it has taken to acquire the level of skills necessary to optimise your site quickly and effectively. The fee also covers payment for an ever more expensive suite of SEO tools.


An SEO agency or freelance SEO guy should be able to provide you with an ongoing timeline detailing the work they have done. They should be able to explain in layman's terms why they have taken every course of action and be willing to provide documented evidence to show what their strategies have been and whether these have proved successful (or not).


Mike Loomey


36 Park Avenue
Barking Essex
IG11 8QU


mikeloomey@hotmail.com


Call 020-8594 1320

Text 07967 044282